Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a Painting Contractor, and Can do all the work involved in what little remodeling I plan..... My Question is about need for any Building Permits. Obvioulsy every county is different, or maybe not too different. But would I need any type of permits to just Insulate the walls, and Drywall. No real structural work......Maybe a divider wall for the laundry room, with just an opening rather than a door. No electrical work involved. Any help would be helpful, or just a point in the right direction.
I will be searching the forums database for anything relavant posted in the past.....
Thanks in advance....... Marvin Jr :Thumbs:

·
Registered
118 Posts
Marvinjr

There is only "ONE" person you should ask, What are the requirements for a building permit. that is your local Building Inspector.
It is my understanding that each state has a "building Codes" every town,village or city can change the requirements, by exceeding the code but not make standards less restrictive then the state code.
Let me say again check with your local building inspector

al

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Technically you are just finishing the interior wall and the divider is not structural, in most places this shouldn't require a permit. I'm pretty much a stickler when it comes to codes but in this instance I would just do it.