Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys...

I have been reading this forum for a long time... especially during my career transitioning... But it is not until now that I would like to ask something and see what the pros can advice me...

I have been working in the construction sector in Canada for the past two years... Before that I worked in the management field for a long time, for companies like BoA, T mobile, Sprint... and that was killing me, so when I moved from the States to Canada (from where my wife is from) I decided I did not want to go back to a cubicle... so I decided to venture myself into the construction field... WHICH I LOVE...

Anyway... now I am working as a Carpenter apprentice ( for the past two years now) and as is common in Canada, to be certified, you have to go to school for 4 terms... so I am halfway my first term at NAIT (they last 2 months each and are space a school year in between) I love the Industry... I really like talking to the more experienced guys and learn from them... some of them are afraid of sharing their knowledge... but most of them understand that it helps the industry...

I work commercial carpentry for the most past, and the company I work for is a general contractor... so Even though I do a lot of work around the site, I also spend a lot of time dealing with the sub-trades and figuring out material, and stuff like that...

so greetings from Edmonton Alberta

·
The Ultimate Wire Hider
4,455 Posts
Welcome!
I really like talking to the more experienced guys and learn from them... some of them are afraid of sharing their knowledge... but most of them understand that it helps the industry...