Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a carpenter by trade and not a plumber...let's just get that out of the way first, although I have dabled. I just recently purchased a vacation house(in the boonies) and in an effort to keep a few dollars in my pocket I am going to finish the plumbing a basement bathroom that has been roughed in already. The bathroom is in a basement, concrete slab floor. A few questions about the finishing:

1. Should the venting of the toilet and shower already have been completed at the time of rough in? I have a capped PVC stack pipe out of the floor, 2" drain for the sink coming out about 18", and then the shower drain in the floor, covered by a square plate if I remember correctly.

2. What are the basic steps for finishing the shower plumbing to get it ready for a freestanding fiberglass one peice shower unit. I understand the toilet flange connectiom, in that, I will need to clear the concrete around the pipe enough to get the bottom of the flange to sit level with the finished floor. But it's the shower that I have had experience with.

Thanks for any insight that anyone can give.

·
Registered
378 Posts
My advice is to find a plumber who needs carpentry work done and work out a trade. We carpenters should stick to nailing and sawing wood IMO.

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
cblevesque said:
2. What are the basic steps for finishing the shower plumbing to get it ready for a freestanding fiberglass one peice shower unit. I understand the toilet flange connectiom, in that, I will need to clear the concrete around the pipe enough to get the bottom of the flange to sit level with the finished floor. But it's the shower that I have had experience with.