Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
For spraying conversion varnish or waterborne lacquer what would be a good affordable setup? I was thinking about getting the graco PRO x7 airless sprayer.

But then I saw the graco pro finish II 395 air assisted airless. The price difference is almost 2000$. Ugh.

What's an air assisted airless? That makes no sense to me. Do I need it to spray clears?

Also I want a machine that can also spray acrylic paints and/or regular paints as we'll so it can also be multipurpose use.

Any thoughts? I'm totally new to airless stuff so I want something simple and effective yet easy to use and clean.

Also one very confusing subject is psi. Most clear coatings say to spray around 25-40psi. We'll the airless is putting out 3000 psi. That seems a lot higher than what I need.

Currently I'm using a husky hvlp cup gun with a air compressor. This is most annoying and delivers highly inconsistent results. Takes forever to setup and wastes a lot of time.

Or is it as simple as buying the cheap $500 machine then getting the fine finish tips? But how about the psi? Can it be adjusted down that low?

·
Registered
7,076 Posts
Check out the Fuji HVLP systems. Conversion varnish, waterborne clear finishes, latex finishes on doors and trims, lacquers, anything solvent or water based short of gel coat, in a small, portable package. You can hook it up with a gravity gun, siphon, or pressure pot. If you use the 3M PPS accessories it doesn't matter if it's gravity or siphon, you can spray at any angle, and cleaning becomes trivial.