Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! This is my first post on here so hopefully I am posting this in the right place! My name is Ian and I'm a new contractor! I started my business about 9 months ago, so far my experience has been... decent. About a week ago I found out I've been doing this completely wrong though. I am one week from finishing my biggest job which is a whole main floor reno. New floors, trims, doors, bathroom, electrical, cabinet refinishing, counter tops and stairs! The job in total costed around $50,000 CAD, after doing some research I realised I have been doing this whole "mark-up" thing completely wrong. I would price out my labour at whatever I think it would take me to complete the tasks I would cover, subs would give me their quotes and I would add $200-$400 on top of it as a mark-up, Material I would also markup but no more then $50. After the research I did I started seeing people say for remodelling contractors they would mark-up their contract TOTAL by 1.50. When I heard this number I thought it was insane! I also heard from an experienced contractor I know in person no more then a 20% markup is competitive. So what I'm here to ask is what is a normal mark-up for a new company? I have no workers and most of the work I'm doing but I do sub in some trades. Any responses are appreciated!

Thanks,
Ian

·
Registered
Custom
12,894 Posts
From another thread... Your percentage of PROFIT markup is going to reflect your business goals, and is different from company to company, but should NOT be confused with you pay yourself... as to only charging a $50 markup on materials, you need to revisit that ASAP, because procurement, handling, delivery fees, etc. if not reflected in your pricing, you're literally paying for out of your pocket...

L - Labor
O - Overhead
M - Materials
P - Profit