Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
got a call this morning for a quote to blast a 21' boat. its in storage but easy to get to with my equipment. he will prep everythig and just wants me to blast. i told him i cant give him a quote until i did a test spot but did tell him my hourly rate and he was ok with it.

apparently it has a few coats of paint and is bubbling and chipped in a few spots. he knows there is some repairs to do and wants it down to gelcoat to proceed said it didnt matter if i got into the gelcoat in spots just not intentionally.

having only done a few minutes with fiberglass i am very new at it. can you guys share some techniques on how i should proceed to remove the paint? i will be using natrium soda, blast techinques and pressure would be greatly appreciated.:notworthy

anyone who does boats have a kind of average time for blasting? as far as i understand i am just going to do the sides and rear plus the leg.

·
Trial and Error Opperator
2,018 Posts
see new post

http://www.contractortalk.com/f95/anti-fouling-bottom-paint-removal-71489/

The Hardest thing with boats is the anti fouling paint! local codes for containment, disposal... tent building.

fiberglass is not bad, just dont dwell in a spot to long,
start back away and work closer till you feel its comeing off good.

If building tents, take your time and do it right. it makes clean up easier.
blasting with 100 psi is ok, # 6 or 7 nozzle.

watch the post above. it will give alot of info i think.

good luck.

·
Glen
1,504 Posts