Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I've been installing FC for quite a few years and have gotten pretty good with it. I have a job coming up that the builder wants to use Smartside. I have never hung this product, but do not see it being an issue. My issue is that everyone keeps saying that it is less expensive to install than FC. I know you can cut it with a regular wood blade and that they are 16' lengths, but install procedures would be same as FC,right? Am I missing something or is it that much easier?

·
diplomat
5,292 Posts
I've used it and probably wouldn't any more in most cases except well protected scenarios. It's easier because there are fewer cuts, no toxic dust, it's way lighter and stronger so 16' boards are easier to handle than FC 12'.

Make sure the painter knows to really paint the bottom edge well.

·
Sophisticated Siding Guy.
528 Posts
I've found it's the same. Sure it's lighter but a well trained crew is used to handling the heavier cement siding anyway so it's not so much a labor savings.

Now if you charge by what's easier than sure it's cheaper but if charge by time consumed on job it's about the same. Just what I've found.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've found it's the same. Sure it's lighter but a well trained crew is used to handling the heavier cement siding anyway so it's not so much a labor savings.

Now if you charge by what's easier than sure it's cheaper but if charge by time consumed on job it's about the same. Just what I've found.
This is the problem I'm seeing. In order to do it cheaper, it would have to be done quicker. If install is pretty much identical then I don't see where I
could make up any time.

Thanks for the replies guys.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Dwayne03 said: