Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my first post here and hope it hasnt been asked to many times to not get a response.
I am bidding a fiber cement siding job the overlapping kind, I had to give the owner an idea of how much for the labor I already have the roof ( metal shake), soffit, fascia (aluminum ), half round gutters (steel )
The house is 1 story with 2 smaller dormers on front just above 4/12 porch roof. area where garage meets main house gets siding 7/12 roof. Gabled house so there is a couple 2 story gable work.
I am roofer by trade (past wood roofer) and can install the siding well pretty easy. Apx. 2300 ft of siding.
I figured an install price of $2.00 ft. verbal
I am in the chicago area and its new construction.
Is this a fair price? high/ low?
Thanks.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Out here in the sticks of Mo, we'd bid that at $150 per sq, $3 per linear ft of soffit and fascia. Unless you get into the half-rounds, then it can go $175 a sq on the siding up to $200 for jobs calling for detailed designs with multiple colors. I'm sure going rates are higher up in your area. There's you a ballpark to work from. If you can get $2 a s/f that's considerably higher, maybe I'm not charging enough. Hope that helps a bit though.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Glad it helped out a bit, I guess Grumpy's still on his honeymoon, he's up in your area & might have some other thoughts.

What brand and style of siding is the customer looking at using? We've only done a handful of fibercement jobs, costs on materials usually send customers to a cheaper material, kind of like composite decking, I've bid alot more jobs with these superior materials than we've done. We use Certainteed's Weatherboards line, great stuff, will last a lifetime, totally impervious to insects and rot and you can paint it. Good luck!

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #5