Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Mason Bee Woodcraft, LLC
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new residential specialty contractor here in Portland, OR. I have been in business just about a year now and, until now, have mostly done fence repairs or new installs that didn't require a permit such as anything 6 feet tall or under.

I am now starting a job where my client wants a 6 foot tall fence and gate with a trellis running along the whole top of it. The trellis would be up around 8 feet tall, and I understand that anything over 6 feet requires a building permit.

My permit was approved for the project, but only if I use 6x6 posts and dig holes 18" in diameter and 3ft deep. This seems excessive to me, and I'm curious what other contractors' experiences are with this sort of situation. I see many fences around town over 6ft with 4x4 posts, and while I would always put the posts down at least 3ft, 18" in diameter seems huge! What is standard for this kind of work? Did I just get an exceptionally demanding guy at the permit office? He said that they don't get many requests for fence permits, just decks - which seems odd.