Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As an apprentice, I sometimes get asked to do just about anything. This time I am being asked to install 8 Security cameras throughout the business. The security cameras require an electrical outlet to provide power to the camera. But the entire office area already has been drywalled. So what I have to do is feed a #12-2 wire horizontally from an existing outlet to make a new outlet.

How do I feed electrical wires horizontally through the drywall without making a mess? Is there a trick to doing it?

Signed, At my wits end with this job

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
13,066 Posts
How far?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have to feed wires for 8 electrical outlets. The are a variety of different ranges, some I can feed through the attic space, but there is one the I have to take it about 10 feet horizontally, others anywhere from 4 feet to 8 feet.

·
Registered
4,732 Posts
What kind of cameras? Why not get the right cables so you can power them from one location...

If this is a commercial space, romex is not the right answer..

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
there are some dome cameras and there is 2 large outside cameras. I the owner has already bought the coax cable as well as the romex. I think that what you are saying is a good idea, except I do not know how to do it. And I think in the long term it would be cheaper. I think you use Cat-5 Cable, but I have no idea how to install it to the camera as well as to the power source. Can you tell me how to do it. ?

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
13,066 Posts