Votes: 1 8.3%
  • Other

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
U

·
0 Posts
I'm a Tamko man.
I have had very few problems, and the few I've had were taken care of.

U

·
0 Posts
Grumpy said:
What type of problems?
Release tape off line and the shingles stuck together in the bundle.

No problems with performance on the roof.

U

·
0 Posts
Owens Corning Is By Far The Best Shingle.ive Been Using It For 42 Years And Have Never Had A Problem.tamko Sucks.gaf Is Ok.

U

·
0 Posts
a long time ago tamko only came as a 10 year roof.ive seen it last less than that.i havent used it since so i went to owens corning and never had a problem.i dont see the difference in installing either one.i dont know why either would be more difficult.im sure they have improved the tamko shingle but im just an owens man!

U

·
0 Posts
My favorite shingle to lay on cut up roofs is the Certainteed New Horizon shangle. Stairstep every six inches with a five inch exposure.
Very close in personal prefference between Timberlines and Landmarks both are very good grippers on steeper roofs.
Did a few roofs with Elk shingles and disliked them, actually one was tore off a week later due to wrong shingle brand, they wanted New Horizons! Really disliked there Z ridge or whatever the junk is with the five inch lap that you have to bend prior to laying. I think they have a different style ridge now that is easier to use.
Not a big fan of Owens Corning as every roof I've done useing them seem to be stuck together.
I beleive IKO makes the Dynasty shingle which I was really impressed with a couple months ago. Installed below freezing with no problems at all.
For three tabs my choice is Sealdon 25's.
Well I live close to Shakopee MN were most of the Certainteed shingles are made so I may be impartial to them!

U

·
0 Posts
Sealdons are organic and yes the price has gone way up lately. A Certainteed rep. told me they can make 3 sq. of New Horizons to 1sq. of Sealdons.