Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi. I am a General Contractor in Nevada City and have done many various jobs in my career, such as building a log home solo. I have had a lot of help from people on this website in the past and was actually not able to log in since I forgot my password and tried to reset it. OH well.
I am always trying to learn new ways of doing any type of construction and keep up with my education.
I am having a real problem trying to find the correct caulk to use on the seams of an acrylic 3 piece Tub/shower surround. This was a new install and I used the manufacturers suggestion of 100% silicone the first time and it failed. You could pull it almost all out in one long strand. I then used Loctite polyseamseal and the same thing happened. I had cleaned it and dried it thoroughly before using the polyseamseal and asked that the shower not be used for 48hrs. I am talking to my local tile supply house and they are suggesting Bostik utra performance urethane caulk. I have researched so many caulks and forums and am confused and don't know what to do next. I really need some help on what I am doing wrong. I have also thought about GE silicone 2, but read it also fails. Sorry for the long explanation and if I posted this in the wrong area.

Thanks to all.

·
Registered
5,855 Posts
I like Locktite's polyurethane caulk. I never used it around a tub. But, it's great stuff. Not easy removable like others.

Google it. I'm not sure if it's mild and mildew resistant, etc.

·
I'm The BOSS
1,904 Posts
contaminated bonding surfaces.

Clean out old chalking, blow out any moisture with compressor.

was with rubbing alcohol.

brand name 100% silicone, small test area first.

let dry as per direction, before using

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)