2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all

I am a painter in Oxford MI. I am seriously considering purchasing
a scissor lift. I realize I will be limited because of landscaping and other
obstructions however I would think the time it would save me in areas
that are accessible would make it a worthwhile investment. Anybody
have any thoughts on the matter? I realize a boom would be preferable
but storage is an issue. Thank you in advance.

Scott McKenzie

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
Smaller Scissor lift is pretty much useless for anything that isnt on perfectly smooth flat ground even if it has the rugged tires

Don’t know if that would affect your decision or not depending on the type of work you do and where it’s at

A normal scissor lift even on blacktop that is not level is a hairy experience when you get a couple feet off the ground

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
trailer able boom lift?

Thanks for the reply. I will have to look into a trailer able
boom lift. Any thoughts on that?

·
Registered
Butcher of wood and metal
6,128 Posts
What you really need is a Z boom that has outriggers for leveling. No sure of the make though, but I guy I know that does tree trimming has one nice small unit would go up like 60'

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
I would say go to your rental yard and rent a few different models and see how they work for you before diving into it.

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,630 Posts
I use a lot of lifts of various styles based on our needs for a particular job. I always rent them and pass a long any operating costs and a small mark up for having my employees certified to operate such lifts which covers the training costs.

There are only a couple of factors that would make me consider owning one, if a lift is never available when i need one, or if i was using them constantly. With good planning availability is rarely an issue.