Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm an electrician, not a painter.

I'm looking at painting the exterior of my house later this year probably fall time. My question is should I buy a sprayer and spray it? or should I use a brush and roller?

I see the Pros using a sprayer all the time but some of the older neighbors tell me to roll it on because it will hold better. I would think spraying would be better because the paint comes out as a mist and I would think it would get in the small cracks better. The house was built in 85, I have some siding to fix and do the usual prep with caulking and whatnot.

What kind of paint will hold up the longest? I was planning on using Sherwin Williams since thats what I see Pros use all the time.

·
Banned
3,075 Posts
If you spray, you need to backbrush also.

I just did my old house....sprayed the trim (and backbrushed).....brushed the lap siding (quick and easy enough to just brush IMO).

Sherwin....good. BenMoore.....good. Good oil-based primer.....great. Thorough and high quality prep work....excellent!

A real painter will be along soon to offer actual help. I will return to my normal profession.....globe-trotting rapscallion.

·
Registered
Remodel
30,098 Posts
Given the choice, with no other information, I'd spot prime with a brush, spray and backroll the first coat, then just spray the rest of the coats.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Should I just prime the whole thing? It hasn't been painted in 20+ years. Should I use oil base paint?

·
Registered
Remodel
30,098 Posts
Should I just prime the whole thing? It hasn't been painted in 20+ years. Should I use oil base paint?
Chances are that was painted with latex. If so, spot prime with oil. If basically everything comes off during prep, then I'd oil prime the whole thing. Not ideal, but a good time saver.