Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Visited a site early last week and the homeowner wants his exposed PIP concrete foundation parged (exterior)to hide some honeycombing and add a bit of texture.

He likes the way the masons finished the project across the street, so I walked over and took a look. The problem is I have no idea what they did. Its a cement based product, applied after the forms had been stripped. At first glance I thought it was EFIS but its applied directly to the concrete approximately 1/8-3/16" thick at the most.

I was just curious as to if anyone here has an alternative to a wire and 2 coat system for this situation.

I will be presenting my proposal tomorrow and will see if the homeowners across the street will allow me to snap a few pictures to post on here.

·
Registered
759 Posts
I am not an expert in EIFS but I have seen EIFS applied directly to masonry many times. Why do you not think that it is EIFS because it was directly applied to the concrete?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It very well may be EFIS I have absolutely no experience with it and was unaware that it could be applied directly to the glossy finish on the concrete.

The only difference I can tell is that the texture on the foundation doesn't have the swirls that are typically associated with the EFIS jobs Ive looked at in my area. Could just be a difference in technique. thanks

·
Vendor
6,347 Posts
That is not a good application for EIFS, nor is there any advantage to using it there. EIFS is not ground contact to start, and there is no particular advantage to insulating a PIP foundation (above grade).

Regular mortar and bonding agent, integral color if required.

·
Registered
3,379 Posts
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: !!!

Compatible materials are always the first choice unless you change your mind.

·
Registered
73 Posts