Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What estimating software are you using and why do you like it? What software should I stay away from.
I'm a General Contractor doing 95% commercial/industrial work.
Also, a Plumbing Contractor doing the same percentages.
The web has so many to choose from, it's too time consuming to investigate all of them.

Thanks for you insight.

Dave

·
Registered
785 Posts
thesidingpro said:
Nothing beats spending a couple weeks building your own spreadsheet in excel.
I use spreadsheets a lot but usually only for single trade jobs. I'm not sure I could pull off a spreadsheet for a full remodel or custom home.

·
Sophisticated Siding Guy.
528 Posts
Other than blue print take off's there's nothing a spreadsheet can't do that I have seen estimating software do.

The thing with excel is you can start of basic and continue to add and make it as complex as you want.

There is a lot that can be done use data validation and basic vb that novice user's can master pretty quickly.

I'm not saying excel is the best for everything but it decent for everything and very user friendly.

·
Registered
785 Posts
thesidingpro said:
Other than blue print take off's there's nothing a spreadsheet can't do that I have seen estimating software do. The thing with excel is you can start of basic and continue to add and make it as complex as you want. There is a lot that can be done use data validation and basic vb that novice user's can master pretty quickly. I'm not saying excel is the best for everything but it decent for everything and very user friendly.
I'm not saying it's not possible I'm saying I'm not currently up to the task of creating a spreadsheet that can do so much. Spreadsheets are great.

·
Sophisticated Siding Guy.
528 Posts