Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am primarily a roofing contractor and we do insulation as an add-on. We have done about 12 insulation jobs along with the roof replacement.

We did some roofing on an apartment complex and now they need insulation.

We’ve been using the Owens Corning AttiCat and it seems to make the insulation expand more than what they say it will. Every single family job that we did had bags left over. I am not sure how to estimate the quantity of bags needed.

Maybe I am over estimating the amount need because I am not deducting anything for the slope of the roof. If the roof has a 4/12 pitch the insulation isn’t going to be 18” deep near the eave because it will be up against the roof. The buildings are about 120 feet long.

The buildings I am estimating are about 3240 square feet and the existing insulation is about 3.5 inches thick. They have fiberglass with cellulose on top of it.

I am planning on blowing in 14.75 inches of fiberglass on top of it to bring it up to 18.25 inches. How many bags will I need?

·
Registered
9,883 Posts
I have said it a few times now, but is there any reason you would blow fiberglass on top of cellulose? Fiberglass will gain very little in this application.

·
Registered
825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Here’s my problem.

I’ve only done about a dozen homeowner jobs and on every job we had several bags left over.

When I used the manufacturer’s coverage chart to estimate how many bags I would need it came out about 20-40% more than what I actually used to get the job done.

So if I use their coverage claims to do the estimate my prices are going to be too high, especially since this is for an apartment complex.

There isn't any work here in Michigan and I need this job.

·
Registered
825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)