Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Firstly , I am a contractor and have been doing renos for the last 20 yrs so I do have a range of knowledge on houses. My situation is I have a rental cottage with a nearly flat (probably 1 / 12 pitch) roof 20 x 25 that is currently tar and gravel and seen better days. There is some soft spots that I need to fix and also tear off all the old roofing.Recently I scrounged from a commercial installation an EPDM roof that was up for 3 yrs before it was removed for an expansion of the building. I have a 1 piece no seams section big enough for the cottage roof and would only need to add one plumbing vent boot to the sheet.In its commercial instalation it was loose lay with a layer of drain rock but I have seen in residential it is glued down. Is there a reason or benefit to either system and if glued is it straight down to plywood or is there some other layer between it and the plywood.The last thing I want to do is skip an important step and have to redo all my hard work( I hate that)

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
Skip, welcome to CT, please complete your profile, then go to the intro page and tell the guys a little about yourself and your proffessional exp, thanks GMOD:thumbsup:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Skip- Rocks are cheaper than bonding adhesive/ On the down side, if something pokes a hole in the rubber, lots a luck finding it.

Glue it if possible..... Benefits- won't shrink, easy leak repair, easy inspections,won't collect dirt,rocks are heavy...............etc.........

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
workorfish- so I don't need to worry about UV or other exposure then?
The roof is below three large pine and cedar trees and gets a good 6" of debris each year so no rocks would make it much easier to cleanup.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·