Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question about permits for building. Please bear with me I am only a student so I know virtually nothing about construction in the field. What permits do you commercial contractors have to obtain to start building besides a building permit. Any waste water runoff permits etc. I have searched Georgia. gov permits etc. and found primary, tertiary, etc. Who does tertiary permit go for, what does that mean. Also do you need solid waste permits etc. I am clueless about what permits are required. The project is a bank around a strip mall. Thanks

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
cpdatlanta said:
Who does tertiary permit go for, what does that mean.
1= primary 2 = secondary 3 = tertiary. Is that what you mean?

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
cpdatlanta said:
What permits do you commercial contractors have to obtain to start building besides a building permit.
Here's a link that might give you some insight into what goes on in a town like Atlanta http://www.atlantaga.gov/government/planning.aspx?section=PlanningCommunityDevelopment

Permit requirements can vary widely from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. While I'm not a GC, from what I've seen you can generally break permits down into three categories; Owner, Contractor, Subcontractor.