Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:rolleyes:Hi everyone out there!
I have one question, I'm a roofer and i'm working in Indiana and Chicago areas. Some of my customers have asked me to help them out filing their insurance claims to get their roof repaired, but the other day i received a call from this insurance carrier in particular asking for my Employer Identificacion Number. I almost gave it to this guy on the phone, but on a second thought i said to myself, since this number it is for taxes, and they pay direct to the homeowner, not to me, why should i give it to them. Has anyone heard of this requirement from an Insurances carrier? appreciate any comment or thoughts on this matter....Tx

·
Registered
301 Posts
If the check is in your name they will require it. It should be a written request and not over the phone. You will then have to send them a form with this number on it. They also may need it to verify you are a real business and not just the home owners buddy.

·
GC/carpenter
44,170 Posts
Joe-roofer said:
:rolleyes:Hi everyone out there!
I have one question, I'm a roofer and i'm working in Indiana and Chicago areas. Some of my customers have asked me to help them out filing their insurance claims to get their roof repaired, but the other day i received a call from this insurance carrier in particular asking for my Employer Identificacion Number. I almost gave it to this guy on the phone, but on a second thought i said to myself, since this number it is for taxes, and they pay direct to the homeowner, not to me, why should i give it to them. Has anyone heard of this requirement from an Insurances carrier? appreciate any comment or thoughts on this matter....Tx