Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just curious if anyone here has a handbook/rule book for there employees?
I am a small builder and am looking at cracking down on employee slacking off like when I am not at the job site they have time to post on Facebook etc....
Also maybe if anyone has productivity bonus ideas?
Thanks for the help

·
Registered
514 Posts
OP- The US Forest Service actually has a great handbook for companies. A link has been posted in the "file swap" section. It askes a questionare first, like your rules on vacation days or if smoking is allowed, then it creates a custom employee handbook for your company.

·
Registered
4,099 Posts
I hate the concept of employee handbooks for the sole purpose of beating employees over their heads with the rules and regs.

LOL A few other problems with written documentation

1. Can they read it, will they?
2. If they can can they comprehend?
3. If they comprehend can they retain it?
4. Do they even care?
5. The ones doing contrary things - this piece of paper generally means little or nothing.

It's a management task to set and enforce boundaries. The "hand Book" is there to define boundaries and expectations. For both the employee and and employer. Slacking off and the cell phone crap requires a human being present (span of control so to speak). There should be direct supervision on site, in the form of a responsible lead man, to "guide" :whistling those who don't get it. Then you as the employer can swoop in and start the scorched earth campaign or let a responsible lead be the bad a$$ and eliminate:eek: the poor behavior from the crew :thumbup:

·
Registered
Custom
13,226 Posts
Setting performance expectations will do more to curb that problem than a handbook that they will read once and still ignore...