Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
this might be considered a diy question so don't laugh.:laughing:

Anyways I'm a commercial electrical apprentice but have a framing question. I was thinking the other day about something an old boss of mine once said. He told me he framed my parents detached 20'x40' garage by himself.

It's a slab with 3 courses of block set around the perimeter then stick framed 9' high 2x4 walls set on top. I noticed he had a 2x6 bottom plate however.

Now I'm in the middle of a basic framing class I'm taking at night at a local tech school for fun. I understand some basic wall framing.

What I can't figure out is how someone stands a wall on top of the three courses of block. Its easy when platform framing or on a slab. I've skimmed over several framing books at the library and haven't seen any that touch on this.

My brother's attracted garage is built similarly...three courses of block then the wall framing.

Do you simply tack on a toe kick on the outside of the sill plate, lift the bottom plate of the wall up onto the sill and push the wall up like normal? :whistling

·
Super Moderator
24,787 Posts
Oh the things we did in our youth...:thumbup::laughing:

How did we do it?.....

All depended on how many bowls of Wheaties I had that morning or how sore my back was....:whistling:thumbup:

·
Registered
Remodel
32,213 Posts
Do you simply tack on a toe kick on the outside of the sill plate, lift the bottom plate of the wall up onto the sill and push the wall up like normal? :whistling
Or you just set up saw horses and build it 3' off the floor. You can also spike the bottom plate to the sill before you stand it up. Working alone, you don't want anything to have a chance to get away from you.

·
Registered
551 Posts