Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Why is it that so many people, not in this particular forum but in general, are so willing to badmouth EIFS without learning about the system? It seems as if some people are stuck in the 90's. I not only haven't had any problems with the eifs on my home but neither have any of my customers. And I have been a contractor for 15 years. I think that as a rule, you get what you pay for. That is not to say that more expensive is better but most of the subs that lowball or underbid are either starving or are trying to corner the local markets.

RFS

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
Before I write else, let me say that 7 out of the 10 'dream' homes that I've pictured myself building have EIFS exteriors. When I get around to building it someday I'll be sure to hire a pro like you to install the EIFS. With that being said -

EIFS101 said:
Why is it that so many people badmouth EIFS - It seems as if some people are stuck in the 90's.
Imagine asking in 1955, "Why is it that so many people are willing to badmouth the Germans?" - the 90's just wasn't that long ago. Memories don't fade overnight.

Aggresive marketing often leads to sales that exceed the supply of skill and knowledge needed to properly use a product. Unfortunately for products like Drivit many of us who work on construction sites saw lots of it being applied by those with only marginal skills and knowledge of the product - and we've seen the results since. It also seems to me that the product was marketed to regions where the climate is only marginally compatible with its use. It was probably those factors, more so than the characteristics of EIFS products themselves themselves, that have lead to the "badmouthing" that you've experienced.

EIFS101 said:
I not only haven't had any problems with the eifs on my home but neither have any of my customers.