Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well like the topic says, I am the drywall guy before you guys get there. I am doing more and more remodel work, and finding more and more people don’t want to hire a drywall guy and bother with having to get another guy to paint.

Before I mainly just worked on big jobs where there was always a painter around that I could have do things like prime before a skim coat if the wall was beat up or something if needed. I never even paid attention to what was used, once it was done I did my thing.

But like I said since I am doing smaller jobs now, to keep them I need to attempt to be the painter. Don't worry, I'm not telling anyone I am a pro painter when I take jobs. Just wondering if I could ask a few questions.

Before skim coating if the paper is torn or the walls are in bad shape I normally had the painters just throw a coat of primer on all the walls, and a coat on ceilings before a texture if it wasn't going to get painted afterwards. Pretty sure just from the smell they always used an oil based primer.

What primer do you guys like to use for this? Can you recommend a specific product? And do you use the same primer on top of the skim coat?

For top coats, I will most likely use latex. Any particular kind you guys like over others? I was looking at the BM site today and also wondering what your default sheen is if the customer doesn’t request a certain one.

I will have plenty of other questions when I think of them I'm sure..

Appreciate your time.
Will

·
Registered
167 Posts
Will said:
Well like the topic says, I am the drywall guy before you guys get there. I am doing more and more remodel work, and finding more and more people don’t want to hire a drywall guy and bother with having to get another guy to paint.