Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Painting Contractor
1,176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A customer had me look at a 8'x7' bathroom today in a hundred year old house. there is some drywall and some plaster on the walls. All of the Lathe is still there. How would you reccomend I go about drywalling this room? Tear out all the Lathe and find the studs?

Any comments on what to expect from a project like this would be apreciatted.

·
Banned
3,292 Posts
I would demo the plaster. If home owner won't go for the price just go over it and charge for the drywall.

Get a mini sledge and go to town. The dust is nasty so wear a mask.

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
Since I'm an electrician, I look at everything from the point of view of a wire. :)

Anyhow, if you intend to leave any of the electrical device boxes, at least remount them to the depth that they'll need to be at after your demo and re-drywalling. I suspect that you're gonna find this bathroom wired in K&T anyhow (hooked on with 1/2 the house, no doubt), so you'll be running the required new dedicated feed to this bath.

·
Painting Contractor
1,176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The homeowner already bought the drywall, it's 5/8ths.

The electrical could prove a problem, as well as the plumbing now that think about it.

The homeowner doesn't want to pay for the demo. I suggested that It would be to their benifit and they would do it if I told them it was absolutely nessisary.

What would I fix the drywall to if I put it over the plaster? I am pretty sure that this building isd not 16" on center framing. This is where most of my hesitation comes from... lots and lots of unforseens at this old place...

·
Banned
3,292 Posts