Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I have been working on an addition in my own house for a few months now. I'm doing most of the work including the shower (which I have never done before).

We used a copper pan and I mixed up the dry pack according to a tile friends suggestion - this stuff

It's been sitting for a few months and today when I went to get started; as i swept up some of the loose dust/sand it started coming up. Not really crumbling but just light sweeping stared digging holes in it. Could I have mixed it too dry, or could it have dried out over the last few months? Is there is something I can do to repair it without having to tear it out and start over?

Any help would be huge, thanks!

Here are a couple of pics:

·
Paul
4,120 Posts
How did you mix it? Did you add sand to the mix? Leaving it exposed for months with the HVAC pulling moisture out of it could be the issue.

·
Paul
4,120 Posts
If I questioned the integrity of it at all I'd tear it out and redo it. The cost and time is to little to worry about.

Reactions: soats

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
How did you mix it? Did you add sand to the mix? Leaving it exposed for months with the HVAC pulling moisture out of it could be the issue.
I just used water, no sand.

If I questioned the integrity of it at all I'd tear it out and redo it. The cost and time is to little to worry about.
You might be right, I just hate doing the same job twice :)

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
They have it premade in flooring dept, or tile supply, it's 3-4 parts sand, 1 part Portland cement, use enough water in a sprinkle bucket mixing and when you compress it with your hand and stays together it's enough.
Sitting outside can go bad, as it absorbs just enough moisture it can hydrate and still stay powdery, usually it's good for a year.