Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
paper hanger,painter
916 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am a painter, paper hanger by trade but my wife wants me to put up shelves in my basement and I nned to ask what kind of drill bit to get. The basement is painted( throughseal) limestone walls( like hard). I need to drill maybe 16 holes for screws to attach shelving brackets. I have used masonary bits in the past which worked ok for a couple holes in concrete but am thinking this is not going to work in limestone. Any tricks? Ideas? Thanks. No need to pick on the poor paper hanger:w00t:

·
Project Superintendent
2,525 Posts
A good quality masonry bit should do what you need to do. If you don't have a good hammer drill you need to buy or borrow one. Something a little larger than the HD homeowner stuff, something with SDS drive.

·
Registered
759 Posts
Just like Mudpad said, a quality bit and hammer drill. Bosch and Hilti for the bits and drills are IMO the way to go. Having a large enough drill is very important. Do not try to use a 18V cordless with a hammer setting, you will be there all day and burn up bits.

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
Chris, what the guys said about the bit i wont repeat, i will add that you should consider gluing and shooting, or screwing pieces of wood into the wall, then attach the brackets to the wood, Depending on the shelf layout you may be able to penetrate the hard walls only a few times, then mount all 16 screws to wood...GMOD

·
Registered
686 Posts