Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, just wanted to know if you guys ever feel that you are in the wrong trade. I kind of had that thought this past saturday. I'm a painting contractor by the way, and on this particular Saturday I went to help my friend (who is a cement mason) pour a concrete sidewalk and a patio, colored Cement with a stamped finish. In total it was about 6.5 yards of cement. there were five of us on the job. I only worked one hour wheelbarreling the cement to them from the cement truck. The rest of the guys worked a total of about 3.5 hours. The job ended up looking great, and my friend recieved lots of compliments from the owners. My friend ended up paying me $120 just for that one hour, 3 times as much as i make in one hour of painting! I also later come to find out that He bid that job at a grand total of $2500!!! I could not believe that. The entire job didn't take more than 25 combined man hours from building the forms to stamping the cement. I thought to myeself "perhaps i'm in the wrong trade" there is no way I am ever going to get paid $2500 for a paint job that takes only 25 hours." You're looking at about 100 bucks an hour.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoy doing my job, I love the indipendence and all that, I even landed a paint job in that neihborhood that day, but it just puzzles me how different trades can vary greatly in terms of income.

·
Registered
227 Posts
I know what you mean....

i think in this case it was about the home-owner wanting a change and an upgrade...an improvement or luxury if you will. when you really want something, sometimes you get a little tunnel vision and the price doesn't matter so much.

Paint is usually something they need. Not many people are looking forward to painting their house. "didn't i just paint this place???".