Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of you put an emphasis on the way you dress when meeting a potential client. Do you dress up or down? Do you think it matters? I’m watching a pre academy awards show and it seems wearing the wrong outfit will make or break a glamorous entry. Have any of you dressed like a chicken or a human billboard to promote your business? :( Do you stay away from wearing jewelry? How about a certain cologne. A different hairstyle.

Did you change your appearance in any way in order to dress for success?

I’m a painter and around my area it doesn’t much matter. It almost seems the poorer you look the better your chances of getting work. Have you ever seen a guy bid a job with his a$$ crack showing? I have. :rolleyes: If I dressed like a chicken or a billboard I’d get shot at. I keep cologne and breath spray in the truck, and wear clean whites when meeting clients. That’s about it. I’m thinking about getting my hair styled differently. I’ve never had that done.

By the way I’m enjoying reading this board. It looks like an informative, fun place.

*That was a suck up.* :Thumbs:

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
½WayFarted said:
I’m watching a pre academy awards show
What's that? You mean, like Orange County Choppers?

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
½WayFarted said:
Have any of you dressed like a chicken or a human billboard to promote your business?
You mean to tell me there are people who are promoting their contracting business and not dressing up like a chicken?

Son-of-a!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
cdac said:
I always conduct my consultations after work covered head to toe in sawdust and reeking of farts and bad breath...