Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What segment of your local market is the typical diy'er ?
1. What ages would they be ?
2. What income level would you think they are in ?
3. What would be the top 3 reasons why they choose diy painting ?
4. How are they getting their diy education.... in what form ?

I am studying the market conditions locally for my store and targeting that segment for the winter season designing promos and education for that tms. I would think this would inspire some of you guys out there to better identify your tms (target market segment) to better align your services and marketing.

·
Registered
38 Posts
1) Mid twenties to low thirties, professionals, out of college, just bought first house.

2) I don’t know, Entry-level professional, both spouses working. Home purchased @ between $80,000 and $200,000.

3) (A) Money (B) Interest peaked in decorating by DIY TV shows (C) Change standard home colors to more appealing choice for their age group.

4) TV, magazines, depot-type-store instructional demonstrations, and me (your friendly local painter).

Mark, these are my answers based on people I know who are DIYers. In general I work on their parents repaints and pass along any help I can and even loaned some tools here and there. From what I have seen they would rather have a pro do it, they want the work done, but money is the determining factor makes them DIYers. I must say they are hungry and willing for information.

Also, I gotta add this, everything I see purchased by these people is purchased from hommer’s, lowes, or walmart. I’ve yet to see ‘em venture into a paint store for anything.

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
sumpen said:
Interest peaked in decorating by DIY TV shows