Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Gents -

I have been working as a distributor sales rep for a few yrs. The distributor is one of the Nat'l big boys.

I know everyone is different. And I have low/mid/high maintenance guys across the board.

What are some characteristics that you like/dislike about your distributor rep? Specifically? What value does he bring to you and your business?

Why do you buy off of one place & not another?

My market is extremely price sensitive these days (which I don't necessarily mind) but I was curious what some feedback you guys would have.

Do you often buy from one place because they are $80sq and not $81? Do you often price shop i.e. call one guy get a price for $81, hang up, call a competitor and tell them the $81, and get the job for $80.

Thanks

·
Registered
Butcher of wood and metal
6,222 Posts
Not related to just roofing. Material price is important , but the way I am treated is very important to me. I will even pay more if that service is good. How things are handled when there is a problem is a big factor too.

·
Thom
4,137 Posts
For me, Delivery was number 1

I get angry at suppliers who lie, promising early morning delivery but show up later, maybe in the afternoon. No supplier saves me enough to cover the costs of a crew sitting around waiting for materials.

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Honesty is important , I have had reps lie it happens only ONCE.

I am savvy and price plays some part but product quality and the service to get it often outweigh my cheepness.

·
Registered
368 Posts
I have used every supplier in my city, and stick to just two now. I use the cheapest supplier(around ~$100 per avg house less) on anything that can be pre-delivered. They are worthless at meet on site deliveries, always late never call.