Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to contractor talk and trying to use "search" but not good luck trying to use it. ButI know this is probabaly been talked about alot before but what in fact does (dish detergent ) do to help mud ? I am a carpenter and do some drywall but recently noticed on ajob the drywallers were squirting DAWN dish soap in there pan and mixing it by hand with there 4 in blade. Is it for the last coat, all coats and what exactly does it do?? Always looking for tips in the drywall area

Thanks

·
Registered
4,165 Posts
I used to be a proponent of using Dawn. Its been a while, but I used it to make the mud creamier and the tools easier to clean.

That being said, I now wonder if it causes fish eyes sometimes. Especially, if I add water to it also. I'm thinking maybe water and the soap causes bubbles. Bubbles pop and leaves little holes.

I guess the amount of water and soap has a bearing on this, not to mention the thickness of the mud.

Maybe a few times I just applied it a little thick.

·
Registered
843 Posts
Ever try using white glue instead of dish soap? Has the same benfit of soap yet gives a little extra glue to the mud. Makes the mud amazingly smooth. Three tablespoons is all you need. Works great!

·
30 yrs carpentry/drywall
89 Posts
Be extremely careful - this is the same as an old wives tale. Some claim it makes the mud smoother, others that it makes it easier to sand when dry, some say it reduces bubbling, and others that it makes it easier to clean up your tools, etc.

but

the one thing it DOES for 100% sure is: