Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone hope you are having a great day. I am new to owning a dump truck. I live in the Texas area. One question this DBE program I seen people say have a woman be the owner of it to keep it running better. Should she be the only Owner name on it or can it be her name and her husband name? Would having both names on it affect the outcome as far as getting work thru this program?

·
I'm a Mac
5,487 Posts
Don't trust your wife?

Sorry I can't add to this or answer your question, I do have a problem (not saying you are doing it) with people scamming the system by having a minority as the face to solely benefit, thats a 'Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Program' there alone.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What??

I am new and trying to get some advice on this program anyone willing to give me some advice Please respond. I am trying to research to look into other ways to keep my truck moving. What does a picture have to do with anything? I just signed up to this forum today.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Confused

I am confused to your reply what are you referring to? I am just looking for some pointer's and advice from anyone who is familiar with this program that is all. Thanks to all to take the time to reply.

·
Contractor
7,685 Posts
I'll follow up on chris' line of questioning a bit...

Are you what would be considered a minority owned or otherwise disadvantaged business owner?

The DBE/WBE programs were setup to "Level the playing field" for those who may have at one time been discriminated against.
In this day and age I believe there is not a lot of discrimination based upon a persons sex or race, and these programs should be eliminated as they create an unfair advantage for those that loophole their way into Gov. contracts.