Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a newly trained electrical contractor in Sacramento, CA.
I recently went to a house where the lady had dirty power in a couple of her outlets.
She had surge protectors on the outlet's with a few minor appliances plugged into them.
But the light on the surge protectors keep blinking indicating an inconsistent power supply from the outlet.

How should I go about fixing this?
What steps should I take first?
How much should I charge for a job like this?

·
Electrical Contractor
744 Posts
How old are the surge protectors I have seen many that came out of the box that had flickering indicator light. What type of appliances? Do you suspect that the power is bad just based on the indicator light? The first thing I would do is check the voltage to see if it is flucuating,then the connection at the outlet, making sure they were not backstab connections. I really don't think you have a problem based on what you have told us. As far as pricing, whatever you charge for the hour and your trip charge. Not sure what that would be in CA

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Did you unplug the appliances? Chinese appliances have been known to 'leak', sometimes to the point of self immolation.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes I tested it with my continuity/voltage tester it was good..

marxlaws said:
whats pluged into them? did you check it with a digital tester?

Yes I tested it with my continuity/voltage tester it was good. The lights lit up and everything. The house is probably about 30 years old. The appliances were just a TV and a lamp.

I ended up giving her a quote to run two new outlets and install a ceiling fan for $750. Obviously it was too much because she never called me back.
But according to you guys nothing was wrong, I could of charged her a lot less.