Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been working for myself (licensed GC) for 5 1/2 years.
I finished up a large custom new build in Nov. and work has been really slow since that time. All of 2013 was busy for me and my guys working with me.
I figured it was due to the holidays, But the month of Jan. Has been super quiet also and I have just agreed to take a supervisor/ Forman job with another GC. Just so I can have work and $$$ coming in.
Now I feel as though I failed at working for myself..
I have to admit, it sucks....I HATE FAILURE

·
Registered
4,732 Posts
Reminds me of some corny expression like 'If you fail to plan, you're planning to fail'

·
Particulate Filter
4,430 Posts
Sometimes quitting is the best choice. The only way its a failure is if the the goals you desire are now unattainable in your new position.

Personally I get tired of the constant pressures of business ownership but they are problems you can do something about. It no longer matters how smart or fast or good you work when you work for wages;
the pay is exactly the same. Thats what really causes the clock watching. Pretty soon youre watching the clock waiting for your life to be over. Being on the edge is what makes the work fun.

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
Didn't you see this window coming?

At some point to had to know that January had the possibility of being slow. At that time you should have let the guys finish and your job should have been to pound the pavement and find some work.

If you're doing things on the up and up on the books, laying the guys off for a few weeks while you scratch up a schedule shouldn't be a problem. That happens, it's almost expected. Where are those guys at now? What are they doing?