Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm a newbie. I did an estimate on an interior paint job 3 rooms, 1674 sq ft, ceilings, trim, doors and all prep work and materials. The estimate I gave was 2461.64 for everything with a 2 man crew. She just emailed me saying my price was 50% more than the last bid and the materials were way overpriced. But the catcher is she told my guy that went to measure that a previous bid was at 2.00+ a sq ft. So does this price sound outrageous and whats up with the mentioning about the higher priced bid?

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
You are cheap for here. I would have been $1K higher.
You are being played by the customer or she is in for a really cheep paint job.
Old sales proverb: Buyers are liars.
Unless you are absolutely desperate for the job, tell her that you are no longer interested and will not compromise your standards. See what happens. You may also want to get together with her and review the scope of work. Some guys just come in and shoot a place, others paint.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Teetorbilt said:
You are cheap for here. I would have been $1K higher.
You are being played by the customer or she is in for a really cheep paint job.
Old sales proverb: Buyers are liars.
Unless you are absolutely desperate for the job, tell her that you are no longer interested and will not compromise your standards. See what happens. You may also want to get together with her and review the scope of work. Some guys just come in and shoot a place, others paint.

Thanks for the insight. I don't want to cheat customers or myself either... :rolleyes:

·
Back from the dead...
6,646 Posts
Hard to say if you are over or under the ballpark. It depends on your production times if the price is legit or not. How long did you expect for this job to take with 2 men?