Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I have been lurking since last Sept. 09. My wife has been a GC for 25 years and I am new to the business. So we started a new company last August, shopped liability insurance based on our first job. Replacing outside stairwell columns, 3 floors, at a condominium complex for a HOA. We told all of the ins. companies what the job entailed and wanted to make sure we were covered properly, because of the danger.

First the company we chose, notifies us that they needed another $105. over and above what we were quoted and paid on the down payment. This was a month after we paid the down. Then, I realized we never got a policy, so I just got it emailed to me 2 days ago. We paid our down at the beginning of Oct. 09. Reviewing the policy, I discover that there was an exclusion for condominiums and apartments. Thank goodness, everything went well, but we were not covered.

When I questioned them about this, they said they could add coverage for condo's at an additional cost, but they can't do anything until we pay the additional $105.

First I am mad about being low balled. Second, I am even madder that if something were to happened on that job, we would not have been covered.

How would you proceed from here if you were in my shoes? I am in Texas.

Thank you, and looking forward to being a member on this forum.

·
DavidC
2,550 Posts
Count your blessings and move forward. That may include finding a different agent or broker if you feel he low balled you. Did they call and get a quote from the company before finalizing your deal?