Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
improving homes
1,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was on a job today and saw the electrician installing a post lamp light. He was using direct burial UF wire from the house to post lamp. All he did was stick his shovel in 4-6 inches and lift the ground up and slip the wire in the hole and then take the shovel out and stomp the ground back down. I'm not an electrician so don't have a clue but 4-6 inches seems like it should be buried deeper so someone doesn't cut it planting flowers. What is the code for how deep UF wires need to be buried to post lamps?

Also, should a post lamp be set in concrete or just in dirt? I went out after he left and it was really loose, as in I could wiggle it very easy. He just piled the dirt back in around it. Just seemed like an all around hack install and I've never even put one in. Just wondering if he was a hack or if what he did is alright?

·
Super Moderator
23,773 Posts
Minimum 24" buried.

Post Lamp needs to be set in concrete or bolted to concrete.

·
improving homes
1,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Minimum 24" buried.

Post Lamp needs to be set in concrete or bolted to concrete.
This guy missed that by a lot. Wow. Wire is 6" at the most and post is just set in hole with dirt piled back in, not even tamped down. I'm going to mention something to the home owner tomorrow, feel sorry for them paying for that kind of work.

So 24" depth is NEC code? Also the concrete is NEC code? Just so I can be sure I'm telling the HO the truth.

·
Box Builder
6,315 Posts
24" for a piece of wire. I wouldn't bother. 6" is definitely not enough. 12" would probably be safe enough. Is the lamp post wood? He probably doesn't have much knowledge on hand tamping and tightening a post. Done right it can be made very tight.

·
General Contractor
7,935 Posts