Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new with my Dump Truck business and I came across an article about this program. Anyone knows exactly how this works? Once a construction company win the bid and you are DBE certified then you can get chosen to work on the project through that construction company? Is this program really worth the hassel? Any other advice on how to keep more work coming in and my truck moving?

·
Registered
555 Posts
State and federal gc's are always looking to fill minority quotas. You need to get certified first but it could help you get work. They are always looking for the white man in the closet though in the certification process, so if the wife doesn't know jack chit about the truck or business forget it. They will screen the hell out of you, get her a cdl make her a big part of the business or forget it.

·
Contractor
7,807 Posts
I'll post this here in the event you miss it in your other post on this same subject.

tgeb said:
Are you what would be considered a minority owned or otherwise disadvantaged business owner?

The DBE/WBE programs were setup to "Level the playing field" for those who may have at one time been discriminated against.
In this day and age I believe there is not a lot of discrimination based upon a persons sex or race, and these programs should be eliminated as they create an unfair advantage for those that loophole their way into Gov. contracts.

My preference is to run on reputation and ability to do what is needed for the price quoted.

These preferential treatment schemes do nothing but divide society into different classes based on race and gender, and pit us against one another......

·
Registered
1,306 Posts