Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend asked me to come take a look at his roof. I'm not an expert on roofing, but I've roofed a dozen homes and numerous garages.

The roof is on a Heritage Homes pre-fab house. They are out of Nebraska. It was pretty obvious to me that he had some defective bundles of shingles, because the very curly ones were in a stair step pattern, then straight across the roof. Obviously the roofer had a bundle or two of bad shingles and he roofed up a starter area, then came through with maybe 4 courses of the bad shingles a good piece down the roof.

He isn't having any luck getting Heritage to stand behind the warranty. Does it matter, isn't this a matter for his homeowner's insurance to reimburse him for, then they can go after the shingle manufacturer or the builder?

The roof is 13 years old and they are 3 tab shingles.

Another weird thing is that the part of the shingle exposed is a brown/rust color and the unexposed (now exposed in places) is a dark gray color. I can't for the life of me remember ever working with any two-toned shingles. It looks almost like they roofed the house with the dark gray shingles, then sprayed it with the brown/rust color granules.

Of course his gutters are full of granules.

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
A lot of those prefab cos bout up truckloads of ikos that suppliers were dumping both good and bad. We get calls for houses built past the date everyone knew they were bad and its. Cause they had them stockpiled

·
Thom
4,137 Posts
Sounds like a 15 year shingle. Those generally last 10 or 12 years. It's time for the HO to buy a new roof. Expecting a manufacturer to do anything on a 13 year old roof is dreaming. Of course, at this point you don't even know who the manufacturer is.