Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
master hacker of wood
2,487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So every morning I've been watching cars and coffee.

Watching those guys get their old junk running, I started playing with my old 75 caprice again.

It ran but not good but years ago I drove it home .i got her running today yippee !! And I think she will only get better as she is driven!

On the search for tires and rims now, one more hurdle has been cleared!!

Attachments

·
master hacker of wood
2,487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Drift,

I was gonna do the whole top black marbled but wasn't sure about it at the time,

I'm thinking of doing a pace car look too it edelbrock style.

The more new gas gets thru it and now it's idling pretty good. Every once in awhile she backfires and stalls but I'm quick shifting to neutral too start it lol

She will light the tires right up, huge screech from the brand new dry rotted tires. When my buddy put it away in the 80's he just backed it into the garage.

The top will never be redone, there's no one up here that will touch it.

I'm thinking of making a removable fiberglass hard top for it. Got to protect it as best I can.

·
Accidental Painter
2,292 Posts
What size motor? I had a 350 bored 60 over stock with a competion cam to give a gnarly idle. Then ran 2 1/4" straight exhaust. It would idle in gear @400 r.p.m. As you can imagine, it sounded sick as hell. Luckily we dont have exhaust laws here.

I found the best burnout tires were Mastercraft brand. They don't squeal (I hate that sound) but smoke like you wouldn't believe. That's because the rubber is very hard. They will also survive quite a few burnouts.

·
master hacker of wood
2,487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
She's got a 350 in it, 66,000 miles I thought I found a set of rims and tires big white walls but the bolt pattern is wrong!!!

Lot harder than I thought it would be too find lol