Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, this is my first post so bear with me. I'm still a little new to this whole internet as a means of having professional questions answered hah.

I'm a tile sub on a remodel in Houston, Texas, the client is having a bathroom remodeled. Part of the remodel is taking an existing coffin shower and creating a curb-less shower in it's place. The shower is going to have a 1/4" slope per foot spanning 60 inches. Here is where the question comes in. The sub doing the shower work is going to cut the slope out of the foundation, I've never seen this done on a on commercial site. Is this the normal way you would go about putting in a curb-less shower? It is by all means easier on me doing the tile work to have it done this way but the residential foundation is only 6 inches thick on a single story home like this.

I just don't want an inspector to come through here and say it isn't up to code then the contractor or owner expect me to redo all the tile.

Any help is appreciated!

·
Eater of sins.
4,684 Posts
Sound like there is cause for your concern there.
Grinding the slab is done all the time or even demo'ing the slab is done but never the foundation wall without having a permitted plan to address the possible consequences of cutting into foundation.

I am not of much help but what the hell? I am edging in to 2000 posts.

Andy.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Grinding the slab is done all the time or even demo'ing the slab is done but never the foundation wall without having a permitted plan to address the possible consequences of cutting into foundation.

Andy.