Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Interior Remodeling
1,275 Posts
BrandConst said:
My guess is you're a homeowner because I don't think a seasoned contractor would post a question like this but go ahead and try RS Means...
Maybe he's not a seasoned contractor but getting started and wants a guide to check his numbers with. There's a reason why these company's sell price guides..... It's because people use them. Why jump to calling him a homeowner and not a contractor?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ty there buddy ,I am a contractor ,don't own a home anymore ,I know from experience bidding for city work that large company's like con Edison and delta airlines use the same guides with there internal estimators and quantity surveyors, so they know where prices have to be ,and its the bid in the middle that always win the contract ,I've been working on these jobs since 1993 ,and delta just released plans for another 11 gates at JFK ,and they havnt finished the last 9 yet ,I don't want to look like a guesstimating on professional jobs .ty

1,183 Posts
Ty there buddy ,I am a contractor ,don't own a home anymore ,I know from experience bidding for city work that large company's like con Edison and delta airlines use the same guides with there internal estimators and quantity surveyors, so they know where prices have to be ,and its the bid in the middle that always win the contract ,I've been working on these jobs since 1993 ,and delta just released plans for another 11 gates at JFK ,and they havnt finished the last 9 yet ,I don't want to look like a guesstimating on professional jobs .ty
So your a painting contractor? Looking to find out how to bid against Delta airlines??

·
Registered
1,200 Posts
So your a painting contractor? Looking to find out how to bid against Delta airlines??