Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are you guys getting for a contractor discount..... 5, 10, 15% ? Do you have to beg for it in the end or are you happy with your prices. Am also wondering what your doing with the discount, do you pass it on to the customer...... or considerit profit for the job ?

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Since I am a contractor when I work as a sub contractor I give ~5%. If I have a good feeling about the General and the job I might give him a good discount just to WOW him over.

I think on purchases 5% is good. We get 25-45% from our window supplier... but then again they give all their contractor's 25-45.

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
Generally, in the floor covering industry it 10 - 15%.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Mark said:
What are you guys getting for a contractor discount..... 5, 10, 15% ? Do you have to beg for it in the end or are you happy with your prices. Am also wondering what your doing with the discount, do you pass it on to the customer...... or considerit profit for the job ?
My home paint store is Sherwin Williams. I am not exactly sure what my discount is. Originally the manager asked what paint I was planning on using the most. I like Super Paint and use it all the time. I get 5gallons of satin interior for $75. I consider it a premium wall paint and like it as well or better than B. Moores Aquavelvet. The B. Moore dealers here don't really give contractors much of a break, I think ten percent off retail. As a result the 5s of Aquavelvet are over $120. I only use it if the customer insists or has the color picked out. I give customer's my price for SW. And charge the diff for BMoore. Paint is such a small part of my pricing scheme as I am strictly res. repaint, interiors mostly, restore old windows and sashes as well, but don't burn alot of paint up in the course of a day.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·