Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, hopefully this thread will involve the veteran painting contractors in here.

Just wanted some info from you veteran guys on how you guys did at bidding jobs when you guys were starting out.

In other words, when you first started out did you bid your first few painting jobs well or did you come short.

And, if you lost money did it mean you made no money at all, or made less money than you planned?

did you have a painting vehicle with tools and all? or was it just your car with the bare essentials.

How much money did you have to start your buisness?

did you begin with big jobs or small residential jobs?

hopefully this makes sense. I am a new contractor. I have 11 years experience in the painting trade, but only about half a year experience in Paint Contracting. They are two totally different subjects, as i have come to find out. It is one thing to produce an excellent paint job, but its another thing to bid one.

Don't get me wrong, i enjoy doing it, just wanted to hear some bagining stories from the veterans to boost up my moral.

·
Pro Painter
2,314 Posts
Well...now comes out the reason I hang around this place too. I'm great at painting...I know my products and always produce quality results, but I still come up short on just about every job! Of course, like you, I have only been doing the contracting side for about 8-9 mos. I seem to constantly want to kick myself when I "dig in" to a job and realize...."damnit, I didn't charge anything for xxxxxxx hassle" fill in the blank...It's always something. Over all I doubt it would ever run me out of business, but I sure want to learn to be as profitable as humanly possible! :cool:

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
I will tell you of a friend of mine who started as a painter and ended up a GC.