Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Finish Carpenter
4,999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The long and short, I do alot of work for this one GC. I worked for him before I went out on my own. We have known each other for a while and I do punchlist work for him. When he goes on vacation he askes me to keep his jobs running...IE I take his place and keep all the trades moving in and out of jobs. I am a carpenter, and that is what I sub for...Is it legal for me to stand in his place while he is away? I mean I am not sure my insurance would like it very much....wouldn't I then be the GC for a week or two??

·
Registered
84 Posts
If you are hired by the GC then you are a sub or a consultant. I would make sure that you have some documentation designating you as such and a written agreement between you and the GC. If you do not hold a contract directly with the subs then you are not a GC.

Buy they way, who do you go to for insurance. I'm looking or some insurance on a constrution management company.

·
Finish Carpenter
4,999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
My insurance is just for my carpentry work....this is kinda a favor thing. I am getting paid for my time and all but its not something I do to make my living per say. I don't hold the contracts with the subs either, that was all set up by him before he left. I am just opening up the places and making sure everything is good to go...basically holding people's hands.

Newtown PA huh?....I was just down that away. I am looking to move into that area in the near future.

·
Registered
31 Posts
constrctonomics - I'm located in nearby Montgomery County, PA. I'd be interested in networking, and also can recommend a local insurance agent for you. Let me know if you're interested.

·
Registered
688 Posts