Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, New guy here I have been a residential carpenter for almost 20 years, the past 2 I have been contracting kitchen remodels. I go in gut the existing kitchen down to studs, move and add electric, usually add a sink in the island, drywall, set cabs, appliances etc.
I have a potential client that wants to include a 10% retainage for 30 days after completion into his contract. I have only run into this issue once in my career and that was when I framed a, apartment building about 10 years ago. None of my peers that I have talked to have been willing to do this.
Is this common practice? Any thoughts about this issue?
This project would be approx 6 weeks in duration, the homeowner would live on site and my contract would not be including appliance purchase or cabinet purchase and would be between 20-25g.

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
Hmm, - - can't say I've ever been asked that, - - I guess I'd have no real objection, - - sounds like he's just worried about not spotting some things 'til after you're already paid and gone, - - and doesn't know you good enough to trust you'd come back. If he's getting a Bank Loan to do the work, - - they may be the ones requiring it.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
No retainage, ever. My contract has been posted, look it up in the archives.

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
Sounds like a guy that's looking for a legal way to nit-pick at you for a month or so. Might be okay... might be a nightmare. I can remember my father quite literally painting over shadows in a living room 30 odd years ago for a lady with a retainage clause.

·
Electrical Contractor
2,411 Posts
This is what a punch list is for. Keep 5-10% back until the last day. Make sure you are fully done and the customer is happy.