Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I submitted my plans for permit approval. I have everyone scheduled for the entire job. All quotes are in my hands. I am ready for construction. I get a call from codes official. He explains to me that since this is going to be an office showroom, I will need to make it ADA compatible. What am I going to do now? How can I fix this and try and salvage my schedule? If I lose my place with my subs it could be weeks or months to get back on their schedules. Does anybody have any ideas? This hasn't happened before and I am new to the business. :eek:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How did you get firm quotes without approved plans? Also, what changes are they requiring.
I should have also mentioned this is a problem for my management class I am taking for college. I have recently gone back to college to get extra credits and some more experience. Is they are way you could help me out in a hypothetical way?

I have never had to deal with ADA.

Heres how i would proceed but I need a little help. I would let all my subs and crew members aware of the ADA change. Then I would see if in my schedule I could put all the ADA components in with my crew members as well as my subs to see if I could either cut a few hours of regular construction and replace it with adding all the ADA components necessary for the building. It might push my schedule back a week or two but I think overall it would be a huge deal. But then I have to think about the unexpected news to break to my subs and I try to make it easier for them. Thats all in my opinion. Any Ideas??

·
Sluggin away
1,393 Posts
For Extra Credit... You as GC just lost all your companies profit due to not doing your due diligence. Clearly thats worth 20 points eh?

·
Super Moderator
24,654 Posts
So just what exactly does your hypothetical entrance look like?