Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long story short, I'm considering a move outta Cali before things get any worse. Looking for better opportunities for my kids, more freedom, and a lower cost/higher quality of living. Florida and NC seem to be top of my considerations at the moment. I know it will be a huge transition for both me as a small business and the family but I feel it's better to do it now while we are still young.

Looking for advise/guidance on how to make this transition as smooth as possible. I'm class B general in CA but obviously that doesn't mean much in those states. If need be I just go back to being an employee until I can get established, licensed ect. I have 20 years experience in the trades so I don't think I will have a tough time finding work as much as I will establishing new connections and such. Anybody familiar with these areas please chime in and let me know where the work is, what to prepare for, ect. Obviously, the pay might not be as high and the code books and clientele will be a bit different but what steps can you recommend to get me to same place for myself as a contractor there as I am now in CA.

Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,996 Posts
I'm in Greensboro, NC. A good move for me from DC 20 years ago. Housing costs are $125 ft vs $400 ft in Metro DC. People are extraordinarily nice...Built up pretty well and biz is good. Good schools public and private in northern area's.

Charlotte and Raleigh outpace us in most all areas. Especially education level. About 27% with degrees here. Charlotte -- higher, and Raleigh closer to 40%.