Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am presently putting up a large stick frame building which requires the installation of some triple LVL beams. These beams are supported by concrete filled steel lally columns that need to be cut to length. I have no experience cutting a concrete filled column. What is the best way to assure a clean square end?

·
Registered
547 Posts
There are pipe type cutters you can get, or cut through metal with sawzall blade and whack it. Do it carefully so you don't bash out too much of concrete filler.

If you did take of too much cement fill it back in.

·
Box Builder
6,320 Posts
I always end up using a sawzall to cut through the steel and then a grinder to clean up the cement and or fine tune the steel square. I've used the large pipe cutter and that is definitely the best way to go. Don't forget to get the large heavy duty lally plates for the extra width of the 5 1/4" LVL's.

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
Yeah, I have a Makita 12" electric cut-off saw that works like a charm for stuff like that. After all, they're designed to cut through concrete with re-bar.

·
Where's my coffee?
92 Posts
My back aches just from reading this. :notworthy

The cutting method depends on your on-site tools and budget... all above will work, some better than others. Personally, I'd be headed to the rental store for a diamond in the rough!

Dave

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
Oh, - - I forgot to mention, - - if I need a really perfect cut on a lally column, - - I put that 12" diamond blade in my 14" (Makita) metal-cutting chop saw . . . :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1 Posts
Tom R said:
Oh, - - I forgot to mention, - - if I need a really perfect cut on a lally column, - - I put that 12" diamond blade in my 14" (Makita) metal-cutting chop saw . . . :thumbsup: